Mark, Ekweremadu, George Akume Re-Elected!


The Senate President, David Mark; his deputy, Ike Ekweremadu and the Senate Minority Leader, George Akume, have been re-elected into the national assembly meanwhile the high ranking senators like Smart Adeyemi, Abdul Ningi and Chris Ngige lost out.

Senator Ngige lost to Uche Ekwunife in Anambra Central; Smart Adeyemi lost to Dino Melaye in Kogi West while Ningi, the Deputy Senate Majority Leader, lost also to the All Peoples Congress candidate in Bauchi Central.

Mark who is returning to the Senate for the fifth time scored 99,538 votes to defeat his counterpart in the APC, Daniel Onje, who scored 50,115.

Credit: Punch