Senators, Reps Finally Allowed To Enter NASS

5 mins read 1

Some senators and members of the House of Representatives have been allowed entrance into the National Assembly complex.

It will be recalled that the main National Assembly entrance had been locked by officers of the Department of State Security (DSS) on Tuesday morning as lawmakers were initially denied access.

However, Senators Ben Murray Bruce, Biodun Olujimi, Rafiu Ibrahim, Isa Misau, Abdullahi Gumel have all been granted access with some members of the House of Representatives.

Some senators who were initially denied entrance have reacted to the development.

Rafiu Ibrahim, a senator from Kwara state, was first to arrive among the senators.

“We got here this morning to go into our office as usual; I work very early. During recess we do committee works and our own writings. I’m writing a book, so I go in there almost every day,” he said.

“We got here and DSS has taken over all the gates, all entrances to the National Assembly and they said it’s an order from above. We asked them why, they said there is no reason. As it is today, it means Nigeria is under siege.”

Ben Murray-Bruce, PDP-Bayelsa, also condemned the situation saying: “It has come to our attention that our colleagues cannot go to work after we adjourned for recess.

“I have contacted the UK and US Embassy to revoke the visa of Senator Akpabio or anybody leading this assault on this institution. We will ask them to revoke the visas of their wives and that of their children. They will not be allowed to leave Nigeria to travel to any nation in Western Europe and North America,” he said.

Lagos Post
The Publisher, LagosPost,
WhatsApp: +2348025837037
Twitter: @Lagospostng