Taraba Governorship Election: Tribunal Sacked PDP’s Darius Dickson Ishayaku, Declared Sen. Aisha Jummai Alhasan Winner


The Governorship Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Abuja has nullified the Taraba State election of Darius Dickson Ishayaku of People Democratic Party and declared the petitioner, Sen. Aisha Jummai Alhasan of All Progressive Congress as winner of the April governorship election in the state.

Mrs. Alhassan had challenged the victory of Governor Ishaku in the Taraba State governorship election.

The Chairman of the Tribunal, Justice Musa Abubakar, had on October 7 reserved judgment indefinitely after hearing the final submissions of the counsels.

In his final address, the Lead counsel to the petitioners, Mr Mahmoud Magaji (SAN), asked the tribunal to return Mrs Alhassan as the duly elected governor of Taraba State.